Sewing projects

I’ve been doing a lot of sewing lately, (I’ve become kind of obsessed) and I decided I really should be documenting my projects better! For a while I’ve just been snapping little pictures of projects with my phone, most of them gifts, before passing them on to their receiver. I’ve compiled a little collection of those phone photos below. Maybe from here on out I’ll actually start using my camera to get some decent quality photos! (With that being said, please excuse the fairly poor quality of a lot of these shots!) Also, I realized that unfortunately there are some projects that I never took pictures of. Boo. Lesson learned!

Reversible apron made for my mother-in-law, using a pattern from Lotta Jansdotter's Simple Sewing.

Reversible apron made for my mother-in-law, using a pattern from Lotta Jansdotter’s Simple Sewing.

Baby bloomers, made using pattern in Lotta Jansdotter's Simple Sewing for Baby.

Baby bloomers, made using pattern in Lotta Jansdotter’s Simple Sewing for Baby.

Baby snuggler made for a friend, using pattern from Lotta Jansdotter's Simple Sewing for Baby.

Baby snuggler made for a friend, using pattern from Lotta Jansdotter’s Simple Sewing for Baby.

Little baby pants made for a baby shower, using a pattern from Lotta Jansdotter's Simple Sewing for Baby.

Little baby pants made for a baby shower, using a pattern from Lotta Jansdotter’s Simple Sewing for Baby.

Bunting made for a friend's baby shower.

Bunting made for a friend’s baby shower.

This skirt. YIkes. I used a pattern from the Burda Style Sewing Handbook. I love this book, and need to try more projects. This one just didn't come out ver well. I've worn it once, and I had to put it over my head to get it on, ha!

This skirt. YIkes. I used a pattern from the Burda Style Sewing Handbook. I love this book, and need to try more projects. This one just didn’t come out very well. I’ve worn it once, and I had to put it over my head to get it on, ha!

It's unfinished in this photo, but this is a stuffed owl wearing a tutu that I made for my cousin's daughter.

It’s unfinished in this photo, but this is a stuffed owl wearing a tutu that I made for my cousin’s daughter.

A few of the little zippered pouches, with first initial, I made my bridesmaids. I always use this tutorial when making these little pouches: http://lusaorganics.typepad.com/clean/2011/06/tutorial-how-to-make-a-lined-zippered-pouch.html

A few of the little zippered pouches, with first initial, I made my bridesmaids. I always use this tutorial when making these little pouches: http://lusaorganics.typepad.com/clean/2011/06/tutorial-how-to-make-a-lined-zippered-pouch.html

Just one of the MANY sets of bunting we (me, my mom, grandmother and cousins) sewed for our wedding.

Just one of the MANY sets of bunting we (me, my mom, grandmother and cousins) sewed for our wedding.

More wedding bunting triangles.

More wedding bunting triangles.

Tim's anniversary quilt, unfinished. It is very humorous how so-not-perfect this thing is!!

Tim’s anniversary quilt, unfinished. It is very humorous how so-not-perfect this thing is!!

Baby shower gifts - bloomers from Lotta Jansdotter's Simple Sewing for Baby. The little shoes were made using a pattern/tutorial found online. I can't remember which though. :(

Baby shower gifts – bloomers from Lotta Jansdotter’s Simple Sewing for Baby. The little shoes were made using a pattern/tutorial found online. I can’t remember which though. 😦

Pieces for the baby shoe assembly!

Pieces for the baby shoe assembly!

Baby shower gift.

Baby shower gift.

Baby shower gift.

Baby shower gift.

Duvet cover, one side print fabric, reverse side solid blue fabric. Snap closure (which I accidentally messed up and put on the wrong side of the cover, arg.) Used this tutorial on Design Sponge to sew this up - http://www.designsponge.com/2010/03/sewing-101-making-a-duvet-cover.html

Duvet cover, one side print fabric, reverse side solid blue fabric. Snap closure (which I accidentally messed up and put on the wrong side of the cover, arg.) Used this tutorial on Design Sponge to sew this up – http://www.designsponge.com/2010/03/sewing-101-making-a-duvet-cover.html

Little bit of detail of the duvet cover.

Little bit of detail of the duvet cover.

Hamlet snoozing on the duvet cover.

Hamlet snoozing on the duvet cover.

Yikes, this is a pretty poor way of showing this project, but this is the Tiny Pocket Tank, pattern by Grainline Studio.

Yikes, this is a pretty poor way of showing this project, but this is the Tiny Pocket Tank, pattern by Grainline Studio.

"Vintage" cafe apron bridal shower gift. I used my great-grandmother's apron as a pattern.

“Vintage” cafe apron bridal shower gift. I used my great-grandmother’s apron as a pattern.

Cafe apron detail with card.

Cafe apron detail with card.

Another cafe apron bridal shower gift.

Another cafe apron bridal shower gift.

Detail of the cafe apron.

Detail of the cafe apron.

Padded sunglasses case.

Padded sunglasses case.

Most difficult project to date, I'd say. The Alder Shirtdress, pattern by Grainline Studio. Worked on this ALL vacation this year. My first time with a collar/collarstand, buttons/buttonholes and  button placket.

Most difficult project to date, I’d say. The Alder Shirtdress, pattern by Grainline Studio. Worked on this ALL vacation this year. My first time with a collar/collarstand, buttons/buttonholes and button placket. (One button is sooo off center.)

Leave a Reply

