I’m back!

Well, after months and months of not posting (and shooting much, for that matter) I think I’m back. I had this whole spiel typed out about why I had been MIA for so long and why I had let myself not shoot for so long, but now it seems a little dramatic. So, let’s just put it this way – I burned out. Not really burned out from photographing, but really from comparing my work to others’. Reading blog after blog of some of the most amazing photographers out there, I made the mistake of starting to wonder why my “work” didn’t “look” like theirs. Finding inspiration from other photographers is a wonderful thing, don’t get me wrong, but not when you start to get frustrated because you can’t get their colors, or their lighting is way more beautiful than yours, or their compositions are far more fantastic. Over and over I was disappointed with my end result.

But I think I’m over that. I’ve convinced myself that I’m still new to this, I’m still learning and everyone has room to grow – even the best. So why don’t I just continue to do what I love and not worry so much about it? Worry makes things you love not as fun anymore, and I refuse to let that happen.

So thanks for bearing with me on my little hiatus, and with me as a continue to learn who I am as a photographer. Man, could this post get any cornier?

Also, in an effort to follow all this, I think I’ve decided to start a 365 project. For those who don’t know, this is a project where one takes a photo every day for a year. I believe this will keep me shooting because it’s fun and I enjoy it – not because I want to put work out there that is just going to wow the pants off people. I’ve also told myself it’s okay to use whatever photographic outlet I want in this – and yes, that means even the likes of Instagram! And hopefully this will get me back into shooting some film as well.

So anyway, this turned into a bit of a ramble. Here’s to hearing more from me!

In closing, I wanted to post a shot that I took of my wonderful nephew back in May when I went to visit him, my sister and brother-in-law. I can’t really get into how awesome my nephew is, but let’s just say that he’s a superb and super cool kid. This is him playing in a little park their house in New Bern, NC. I’m also excited to say that they will be moving to Boone at the end of this month so I’ll have more frequent chances to take pictures of him! A little bitter-sweet as we all love New Bern for them, but I’m so excited to have them closer to me!

And one last one of him from the aquarium. A little funky, but I like it.

One thought on “I’m back!

  1. Welcome back – your photos were missed. I like your work – I also like Billy’s work. You are both photographers and one is not “better” than the other. You each have your own niche. Keep clicking!!

Leave a Reply

