Getting caught up

For my first few posts, I will be including some images from my “archives”; a lot will be from weddings, and some will just be personal.

I’ll be honest – WordPress is confusing the daylights out of me, so please bear with me as I try to post new images with corresponding captions and all!  Also, please let me know if you find it a bit confusing to navigate, and I’ll see what I can do to make it work!

First I’d like to post a few shots from one of my best friend’s wedding.  Nicole Minkin, now Lissenden, married Alex on September 26, 2009 on a rainy but beautiful day in Hot Springs, NC.  This was such a beautiful wedding, and was just SO Nicole.  I now also know, after getting to know him much better, that the day was very Alex as well.  These two are a couple of the most talented people I have ever met, both in their own individual and unique ways – Nicole a painter/graphic artist/drawing/letterpress/photography/jewelry maker extraordinaire, and Alex a pottery/graphic artist/all around creative master.  Tim and I have been lucky enough to be able to spend ample time with them (and their doggie daughter, Jackie) since we have moved to Asheville.  Nicole recently bought an old letterpress and has been pumping out some beautiful pieces. Please do yourself a favor and look at her blog, http://minkletterpress.wordpress.com/.

Now, onto the photos. (Oh, and until I can figure out how to post them larger, please click the image to view full size!)

Nicole and her father, Bruce (also known as Dr. Minkin) during their first dance. Nicole, as the only daughter in her family, has what I feel is a very special relationship with her father. If you had heard his toast that night, you would have thought the same!

There were some incredibly well-presented and tear jerking toasts during their reception. I always love watching the bride and groom’s faces as they watch their loved ones honor, complement, embarrass and share their love for them.

This (on the right) is Nicole’s older brother, Erik, giving his toast. Talent really runs in the Minkin family – Erik is studying Animation at SCAD Atlanta.

Alex must be a special name to Nicole, as her younger brother’s name is also Alex. Here he is, giving his toast. Alex is yet another Minkin with some major talent under his belt – he is pursuing a photography degree at Guilford College in Greensboro NC (Nicole and husband Alex’s alma mater) and is producing some National Geographic quality images.

I just love how Alex has his arm around his mom. To me it shows that not only do they have a strong mother/son bond, but also a good friendship as well.

And just for the heck of it – a sparkler filled, out of focus shot!

Sparklers definitely make for some fun shots.

Leave a Reply

